Witness to War

Anyone who knows me, or has been following this blog for a period of time, will recognize that this title today is a subject that strikes deep into my heart, and I would even say soul.

I never heard of Janine diGiovanni before today, I came upon this talk while following another link, and found it full of understandings I have read from others; Greg Braden, talks about being the witness to wars, Nicholas Taleb stated in his book ‘The Black Swan’ that when war broke out in Lebanon people thought it would only last six months, Plato said, only the dead have seen the end of war …
Although she does not speak of him in this talk, whenever I hear of the Bosnian War I am reminded of the Cellist of Sarjevo, who regularly sat in public playing his Cello, defying the snipers who were laying siege to the city.
Please take ten minutes and listen to this woman and mother speak as a witness to war, she speaks for the silent ones, who so truly deserve our attention.

9 thoughts on “Witness to War

  1. words seem to have escape me….
    so much I could say, but the word profound echoes….
    what an incredible post…
    )0(
    maryrose

  2. Just recently, I finished reading “A Thousand Splendid Suns”, and while it is a work of fiction, the thing that resonated most with me was the stories of those who lived in Afghanastan. I’m not sure why it still amazes me – the human ability to isolate, to assume there is a superior race, country, ideal. Most often, I am astounded at those who would demean others, for no other than reason than for difference. It doesn’t make me angry as much as it breaks my soul……… Thank you for this reminder of our debt – that we belong to one another. ~ Ever, B

    • It is not as hard as everyone thinks to separate and dehumanize ourselves and others … there is a terrible sadness in it, when we think of all the wars, or all the great wars, that were supposed to end all wars. There is something in our psyche, something in our DNA that got put there, and has never been worn out … maybe it needs to be extracted. Who was it that
      said, I will not march war, but when you march for peace, then I will be there…

      • I think it was Mother Teresa…… People have forgotten they belong to one another. More and more, I sense that the opposite of peace is not war; but indifference.

  3. Thank you for this P, her words resonate deeply within…war starts with an unkind word or thought. We are all one and there is no ‘above or below’ another soul in universal importance. I have sent this onto my daughter studying Politics. J x

Leave a Reply

